Lux aeterna - A Music Festival for the Soul

The fourth edition of the »music festival for the soul«, which is held in the city’s brightly lit concert halls and churches, takes place in February 2019. For a good three weeks, some 25 events offer music to help the listener escape the greyness of a Hamburg winter and also tries to answer some profound questions.

What am I living for? Is there a higher sphere of existence, possibly even a god? What happens after death? In a time when many people are dependent on their smartphone and feel abandoned by society, in a time when big political issues seem insoluble, such questions are more pressing than ever.

Eternal Light

The dark and cold month of February seems an ideal time to reflect on intrinsic values. Many people are looking for inner peace, for ways to soothe their stressed soul. The »Lux aeterna« festival aims to respond to this yearning for spiritual experience – with music. The Latin title translates as »eternal light«. If you direct your steps to the enticing open doors of Hamburg's churches and concert halls, you will encounter sounds that illuminate us from within, music that speaks to us on a special, subconscious level.

From Olivier Messiaen to the Whirling Dervishes of Damascus

The legendary whirling dervishes from Damascus seek their way to Allah in dance: the constant circular movement symbolises a spindle that connects the Earth with the likewise revolving cosmos. In the 13th century, the dervishes were followers of the Sufi mystic Rumi, who advocated a philosophy based on love: he believed that Man can only find the way to God via true love. A comforting message, to be sure. Jazz composer Christophe Schweizer transports Rumi's teachings to the present day: he has set a selection of Rumi's finest poems to music, and performs them at the Elbphilharmonie together with vocal artist Almut Kühne.

For French composer Olivier Messiaen, music was not just a sequence of beautiful sounds, it was also the gateway to a different world, a heavenly sphere. »You speak to God through music – and He will answer you in music« – these words are sung by an angel in Messiaen's opera »Saint François d’Assise«. And elsewhere he calls for »true, that is, spiritual music«.

Contemporary Music

Spiritual music can also be found in the oeuvre of contemporary composers: Georg Friedrich Haas's »in vain« works with interwoven microtones and overtones that enable us to focus on the tiniest things in our surroundings. Mindfulness is the key word here. The effect is enhanced by the fact that parts of the concert will be given in complete darkness.

Intimate Family Prayers and Large-Scale Settings of the Mass

Obviously, a festival with eternal light as its theme must include Johann Sebastian Bach, be it in the shape of intimate »family prayers«, featuring songs he wrote for his wife, or of his great B Minor Mass. Franz Schubert's Mass in E-flat major is very different in character: the strict liturgical text is set to monumental and bold music. Sylvain Cambreling performs it with the Symphoniker Hamburg and the Europa Chor Akademie Görlitz at the venerable Laeiszhalle. The festival also includes jazz sessions, dance performances at Kampnagel, and concerts with orchestra and for children.

As was the case at the previous three festivals, the forthcoming »Lux aeterna« is not confined to the Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle: it includes churches and other locations all over the city. This is made possible by the constructive cooperation of the major Hamburg orchestras and by longstanding partners such as Kampnagel. They all help translate infinity into music. Musica aeterna.

Lux aeterna - Ein Musikfest für die Seele

Im Frühjahr 2019 lädt das »Musikfest für die Seele« bereits zum vierten Mal in die hell erleuchteten Konzerthäuser und Kirchen der Stadt. Über gut drei Wochen hinweg und in rund 25 Veranstaltungen erklingt hier Musik, die den Hörer dem nieselig-grauen Hamburger Winter entrückt und versucht, tiefgehende Fragen zu beantworten.

Wofür lebe ich? Gibt es eine höhere Sphäre der Existenz, womöglich sogar einen Gott? Was geschieht nach dem Tod? In Zeiten, da sich viele Menschen abhängig von ihrem Smartphone und abgehängt von der Gesellschaft fühlen, da die politischen Themen immer unlösbarer scheinen, stellen sich solche Fragen noch etwas drängender als sonst.

Ewiges Licht

Gerade im dunklen, kalten Monat Februar scheint die Besinnung auf innere Werte notwendiger denn je. Viele Menschen suchen nach Möglichkeiten der Einkehr, Ruhe und Besinnung, nach Naherholungsgebieten für die gestresste Seele. Das Festival »Lux aeterna« möchte diese Sehnsucht nach spiritueller Erfahrung erfüllen – mit Musik. »Ewiges Licht« bedeutet sein Titel übersetzt. Und wer seine Schritte zu den einladend geöffneten Türen der Konzerthäuser und Kirchen lenkt, kann sich innerlich erleuchten lassen von Klängen, die uns auf einer besonderen, unterbewussten Ebene ansprechen.

Von Olivier Messiaen bis zu den sich drehenden Derwischen aus Damaskus

Die berühmten sich drehenden Derwische aus Damaskus suchen ihren Weg zu Allah im Tanz: Die ewige kreisende Bewegung symbolisiert eine Spindel, die die Erde und den ebenfalls kreisenden Kosmos verbindet. Die Derwische waren im 13. Jahrhundert Anhänger des Sufi-Mystikers Rumi, der eine Philosophie der Liebe vertrat: Nur durch wahre Liebe findet der Mensch zu Gott. Eine tröstliche Botschaft. Jazzkomponist Christophe Schweizer holt die Lehren Rumis in die Gegenwart: Er hat eine Auswahl der schönsten Gedichte Rumis vertont und führt sie mit der Stimmkünstlerin Almut Kühne in der Elbphilharmonie auf.

Für den französischen Komponisten Olivier Messiaen war Musik nicht nur eine Reihe schöner Töne, sondern ein Portal zu einer anderen, überirdischen Sphäre. »Du sprichst zu Gott durch die Musik – er wird dir durch die Musik antworten«, lässt er in seiner Oper »Saint François d’Assise« einen Engel singen. Und an anderer Stelle fordert er »eine wahre, das heißt: eine spirituelle Musik.«

Aktuelle Musik

Spirituelle Musik findet sich auch in der Gegenwart: Georg Friedrich Haas' »in vain« arbeitet mit ineinander verschobenen Mikro- und Obertönen und ermöglicht den Fokus auf die kleinsten Dinge um uns herum. Achtsamkeit ist hier das Stichwort. Verstärkt wird dieser Effekt dadurch, dass Teile des Konzerts in völliger Dunkelheit stattfinden.

Intime Hausandacht und große Messen

Natürlich darf auch Johann Sebastian Bach nicht fehlen, sei es in Form einer intimen »Hausandacht« mit Liedern, die er für seine Frau geschrieben hat oder seiner großen h-Moll-Messe. Franz Schuberts Messe in Es-Dur ist so ganz anders – monumental und kühn im eigentlich strengen liturgischen Text. Sylvain Cambreling bringt sie mit seinen Symphonikern und der Europa Chor Akademie Görlitz in der altehrwürdigen Laeiszhalle auf die Bühne. Dazu kommen Jazz, Tanztheater auf Kampnagel, Orchester- und Kinderkonzerte.

Auch in seiner vierten Ausgabe beschränkt sich das Festival »Lux aeterna« nicht auf Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle, sondern bezieht Kirchen und weitere Spielorte im gesamten Stadtgebiet ein. Möglich wird dies durch die konstruktive Zusammenarbeit der großen ansässigen Orchester und langjähriger Partner wie etwa Kampnagel. Sie alle helfen mit, die Unendlichkeit in Noten zu fassen. Musica aeterna.